top of page

Do I need to complete the permit exam if I am over 18?

Yes, you do.

I am over 18 but I don't know how to drive. Do I need a learner's permit to start driving?

Yes, you do.

How long is a driving lesson?

Our driving lessons are 90 minutes long.

Why driving lessons are so expensive?

There are a variety of reasons why driving lessons are expensive. The first one is because when you book a driving lesson you get a private instructor for 90 minutes. Teaching how to drive is physically and mentally draining. A driving instructor can do just 4 lessons a day to be able to teach effectively and safely. They deserve  a decent payment. The second reason is the vehicles. Our vehicles are brand new, and we all know how expensive they are. Additionally, vehicles are not built to endure the excessive and tough use that they are given during driving lessons. Therefore, to keep our vehicles functional and safe, we have to follow an extraordinary maintenance schedule. Another reason is the insurance. Most of us know how our insurance increases when we add a new driver to the policy. Can you imagine how much is an insurance for a vehicle that is used to teach multiple starting from scratch drivers every year? Last but not least, is the gas price. We have to fill our tanks every single day, and we still need to make a profit to make this business sustainable. Believe me when I say that after 6 years with my school, I am still trying to make this business profitable. It is not yet.

Do I have to go to your office for my driving lessons?

If you are in our service area we'll pick you up & drop you off. If you live out of our service area you can come to us, or we would charge an additional fee depending on your location.

How many driving lessons do I need to learn how to drive?

Every person is different and not all of us have the same needs. However, and according to our experience, most kids between 15 to 20 years old are going to be ready to keep driving with their parents after 5 to 10 lessons. They will not be ready to drive alone safely with just a few hours of driving, but most times, they will be ready to keep practicing with a family member in a safely manner.

Just as a reference point "The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles requires that any minor doing the driving test has driven 50 hours during the past 12 months, of which 10 hours were at night."

How do I get my learner's permit with Kelly's Driving School?

  • You have to be at least 15 years old.

  • Complete the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course online.

  • If you are under 18, a legal guardian must come with you to sign a parent consent form.

  • Bring all documentation required.

  • Take our preparation class.

  • Pass your Class E Knowledge Exam or written test.

  • Go to the DMV with a legal guardian to pick up your permit.

​​How old do I have to be to get a driver's license in Florida?

  • For a learner's permit you have to be at least 15 years old.

  • For an Intermediate or Provisional license you have to be 16 to 17 years old.

  • For a Full Class E driver's license you have to be 18 years old.

What restrictions do I have with a learner's permit?

You can only drive during daytime hours for the first 3 months. After the first 3 months, you are allowed to drive until 10 p.m.  You just can drive with a licensed driver 21 years or older in the front passenger seat.

What restrictions do I have with a intermediate license?

  • If you are 16 years old, you may drive unsupervised between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.

  • If you are 17 years old, you may drive unsupervised between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.

Regardless of your age, you can drive at any time if you are driving from or to work, or if you are accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years or older in the front passenger seat.​

​​

How do I move from my learner's permit to my intermediate license?

  • You have to be at least 16 years old.

  • Have your Florida learner's permit for at least 1 year with no incidents.

  • Have completed 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving instruction. At least 10 hours of instruction  must be at night.

  • Submit certification of 50 hours driving completion.

  • Pass a driving or road test.

When can I get my full unrestricted driver's license?

When you turn 18 years old.

I have a driver's license from a different state. What do I need to do?

Visit your local DMV to get your previous driver's license transferred to the State of Florida without having to take the written and driving test.

I have a driver's license from a different country. What do I need to do?

I Have a learner's permit from a different state. Can I get my driver's license in Florida?

Yes, you can if you are 18 or older, or if you  are a minor you must have been with your permit for a year or longer. You have to go to a DMV facility to take the driving test, or transfer your permit to the State of Florida and take the driving exam with a TPA. See what documents you must have for the DMV.

I am older than 18, how do I get my Florida driver's license for the first time?

  • Complete the Florida Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course. 

  • Pass the written test.

  • Pass the road test.

Do I have to take my written and road test at the DMV?

You may take both tests at the DMV facility or through a third-party vendor.

However, please be aware that you could be randomly selected by the DMV to repeat your test at the DMV Facility.

May I take my written and road test with you?

Yes, we offer the written test in our office.

What do you teach in a driving lesson?

We teach basic and complex driving skills as well as the rules that you have to follow on the road:

  • Right and left turns

  • What to do in all kind of STOP signs

  • How to approach intersections

  • Speed control

  • Following distance

  • Right of way

  • Changing lanes

  • U-turns

  • Reversing

  • Parking

  • Local roads and Highways

  • Signals

  • Defensive driving

  • Mirrors & Blind Spot

What do I need to start my driving lessons?

You need to have your learner's permit.

What documents do I need to bring for my permit or license?

Where can I do my appointment with the DMV?

Click here to make your appointment with the DMV

Where can I download the Florida Driver License Handbook:

Click here to download the book in English

Click here to download the book in Spanish

Do you offer the 4-Hour first time driver or alcohol & drugs course in your office?

Yes, we do.

How can I book your services?

You can book some of our services online by clicking here or you can call us.

For more information visit https://www.flhsmv.gov/

Untitled design (10).png

Check for Kids & Pets

Do not leave unattended or unsupervised children or pets in a vehicle.

bottom of page